City Council

Form of Government

The City of Marble Falls is a Home Rule city with a Council-Manager form of government. The City Council is composed of a Mayor and six (6) Councilmembers elected at large under a place system. Each Councilmember occupies a place on the Council and is elected by plurality from all candidates running for that place by the qualified voters of the City.

Each member serves a staggered 2 year term, thus 3 of the members are voted on 1 year, with the remaining members, including the Mayor, elected the following year. The maximum number of terms that an individual may serve is three (3) terms as Council Member and three (3) terms as Mayor. An individual may not serve more than four (4) consecutive terms as both Mayor and as a Council Member. Regular City Council elections are held on the 2nd Saturday in May.

Duties and Responsibilities

The City Council operates under the Home Rule City Charter adopted by the citizens of Marble Falls. The Council is responsible for:

  • Approving or rejecting zoning changes
  • Considering city ordinances and resolutions
  • Establishing city policies
  • Establishing the annual budget to provide services to the public
  • Setting the city tax rate and water and wastewater rates for Marble Falls

Regular Meetings

When: 6:00 pm the first and third Tuesday of each month.

Where: City Council Chambers, 800 3rd Street

Agenda and Minutes

All agendas are posted 72 hours prior to each meeting, as prescribed by law, in the kiosk located at the front entrance to City Hall. Minutes are available following approval. View the agenda center.

State and Federal Representatives

To determine the elected officials who represent you on the state and federal level please visit the Texas State Senate website.